Looking Back and Looking Forward

As the year comes to a close I can’t help look back on the year and honestly it’s been quite a nice year. 2015 was the year, I transfered to ETSU.  A year that saw me attending classes that got me doing some artwork in quite sometime since the abysmal dry spell I’ve feel like I’ve fallen into. The year a new Star Wars film rolled into theaters. Another year in which my interest in Anime, Manga, Toku, Light Novels and Japan grew. A year in which I turned twenty-two.

And as I’ve looked back on the year, I’ve found myself filled the desire to get back to drawing again. I’ve found the desire to break free of this incredibly horrible feeling of wanting to draw but at the same time not wantin to. But as I’ve been looking back at the year, I’ve  also found myself looking  back at and thinking about my art over the years.

Honestly, I’m proabably my own worst critic. I’m always looking at my work and saying that I’ll never amount to anything, that I’ll never achieve my dreams, that my abilities aren’t any good.  It’s not exactly a pleasant feeling. But in looking back, I’m reminded that I’m better that think. I’ve grown as an artist, and as a person.

1220151756.jpg

Oh Childhood Memories and Art ability

When I was kid, I wasn’t all that great.  I had little to likely no understanding of anotomy and could mostly acomplish shapes at best. But I kept going and I’ve gotten better. I’ve learned new things, and picked up skills.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And yet, I still have a ways to go. Hands are still something I struggle with at times as well as feet, and there are likely other things that I can still learn. I can still move forward and pick up new skills, and my polish my existing ones. I can keep getting better.

So with the new year of 2016 approaching, I can’t help but say that I’m looking forward to it. I look forward to reapplying myself to my art. I look forward to getting better. I look forward to being better and becoming not only a better artist but more sure of myself. More confident in my self. So here’s to a bright new year.

 

Leave a Reply

