Monthly Doodles #8 – Happy New Year!

Another year has come to a close. It’s hard to believe that another year has already come to an end. It really does feel like this year has flown by. I’ve finished another semester and I’m now currently a College senior. I finished Typography, part one of second year Japanese, Intermediate figure drawing, and Intro to print. Pokemon celebrated its Twentieth anniversary and I got Pokemon Moon. Rogue one came out and I turned twenty-three only eleven days ago. It’s pretty incredible how time seems to fly.

Honestly, I’m very happy with the year. There were highs and yes there were lows. Really incredible lows. And yet, the year was for the most part quite positive for me. For one, I actually ended drawing  and doing quite a bit more art this year. And while attending classes I got to do things I’ve never done before like using an etching press or relief printing.

Aside from work that I worked on for classes I also did more work on my own time. Like starting to make monthly post on this little blog to keep myself drawing every month or just sharing the stuff I do. Or some of the little drawings I did around Christmas.

While college has been a bit draining from time to time, and I’ve just found my life to just be irritating. I feel like I’ve been making progress on getting myself drawing more and more. I may not have programs like Photoshop or Clip Studio Paint but I’ve felt a renewed sense of desire to keep working on my abilities and improving. I’m more aware of some of my own problems and I want to do my best to move forward and grow. “Perfection gets in the way of greatness” as my Intro to Print instructor said and I can’t spend my time constantly picking myself apart over the tiniest little details.

With a new year, I’ll do my best to keep a positive attitude. I can keep applying myself. I can keep growing both as an artist and as a person, and i’ll keep at it to the best of my ability. I’ll moving onward into the future, my head held high.

Happy New Year!

suzu-sketch

Leave a Reply

